Skip to content

Spaghetti Sqaush-A great alternative

October 7, 2009

There are few things I enjoy more than a heaping serving of spaghetti with Italian sausage meatballs and some yummy tomato sauce to top it off! However, it is a rare occasion that I get to enjoy this wonderful meal mostly because I am aware of how many awful calories are in that heaping serving! So, this summer I found a great alternative. Spaghetti Squash……

cooked-spaghetti-squash-02

Spaghetti Squash can be used in a lot of different recipes, or it can simply be enjoyed cooked with a little butter, and salt and pepper. My new favorite way to eat spaghetti squash is to use it as a substitute for pasta.Β  My dad made this for me over the summer and I loved it! So I decided to try it the other day for some friends and it was a hit. It is also very quick and easy which makes it even better. Here is how it goes…

First, you need to cook the Spaghetti Squash. There are lots of different methods to do this but the one I prefer is to just put it in the microwave for about 10 to 12 minutes. Pierce the squash several times with a sharp knife before you put it in. Then let it stand for about 5 minutes afterward to finish steaming. See video section for more instruction.

Next, make sure you put on your oven mitts, then take it out of the oven and cut it open at the equator. Remove the seeds and pulp then spoon out the spaghetti squash into a bowl.

Add some turkey sausage meatballs and some tomato spaghetti sauce and you have your self a yummy healthy meal. For healthy recipes using Spaghetti Squash go to allrecipes.com.

Spaghetti squash

P.S.-A 4 oz serving of pasta is about 400 calories!

A 4 oz serving of spaghetti squash is only 37 calories, great way to go!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2009 9:50 pm

    What a great idea! I have never had that before, but I think I am going to try it out. It is good to know that there are recipes out there that can fill you up, but only have 400 calories! That is awesome πŸ™‚

  2. October 15, 2009 3:09 am

    I went out today and bought a spaghetti squash to try this recipe! I hope it tastes as good as it looks ! Thanks for the idea!

  3. October 19, 2009 11:50 pm

    I love spaghetti squash – its so good!! I always feel like I’m so sick of the foods that I eat and I forget about different foods like this that I’ve tried. I’m so excited to follow your blog and find out what other good things you come up with πŸ™‚

  4. October 28, 2010 3:03 pm

    so many healthy recipes to choose from on the internet*~.

Trackbacks

  1. The truth about spaghetti squash « The 20 pound struggle

Leave a Reply

